Privacy

Respecting your privacy is important to us at SignOnSite.

We believe it is important for you to know, understand and control the information collected by SignOnSite.

This information is available in full in our Privacy Policy, which is available by clicking here.

What information isn’t collected

If you use the SignOnSite iOS app, Android app or use a kiosk to: sign-on/sign-off, do your inductions, getting your daily briefings or being alerted to evacuations, then you are considered to be a Worker User.

For Worker Users:

  • The SignOnSite apps are free to download and free to use.
  • SignOnSite will not collect any credit card or payment information.
  • The SignOnSite apps do not facilitate any type of financial transactions.
  • The SignOnSite apps do not request or require any permissions to be given to any form or payment information stored on your phone or digital payment services such as Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay.
  • SignOnSite will not track your specific location within the site following your initial sign on (after it has determined you are on site).

What information is collected

Worker Users

If you use the SignOnSite iOS app, Android app or use a kiosk to: sign-on/sign-off, do your inductions, getting your daily briefings or being alerted to evacuations, then you are considered to be a Worker User.

For Worker Users, SignOnSite may collect:

  • your name, address, contact details and date of birth;
  • any photos that you upload;
  • your device ID, device type and information, geo-location information, Internet Protocol (IP) address and standard web log information;
  • site locations you attend and the times you are there;
  • details of licences relating to construction, such as Permits to Work;
  • employment details and qualifications;
  • Certificate of Currency details; and
  • information contained in any communications between you and us.

When a Worker searches for a  site in the app, signs on to it, and/or completes an induction form, that behaviour constitutes consent to the sharing of information from the Worker user to the Customer user who manages that particular site. The Worker information collected by SignOnSite is then used by the SignOnSite system to perform its functions for the Customer, as outlined in section 4 of the Policy.

Location information

How SignOnSite uses Location

The mechanism that the SignOnSite app uses to sign you on and off site automatically was designed with your privacy front of mind. All the power remains with you and your phone, with the phone simply telling SignOnSite when it is on site, or when it is off site.

The way this works is your phone uses its own sensors, a combination of mobile reception towers, nearby WiFi and GPS, to determine when you have entered and exited sites. The key point here is the phone determines this. Our servers do not help the phones in any way and have no communication with them during this process.

Only once the phone has decided that you are on site, will it send a message to the SignOnSite servers saying that you should be signed on. In this instance, we have the location that phone thinks it was at when it determined that you should be signed on.

This process is repeated when you are signing off site. Your phone performs all of the calculations with no communication with our server until it decides that you are definitely no longer on site. In this case, the phone does not tell us where you were when it said that you should be signed off.

Aside from these two scenarios, the phones never send SignOnSite any information on where you are. When you are on site, we have no other information aside from that you are signed onto the site. When you are off site, we have no way of telling where you are at all.

How your phone manages Location data

In addition to these design choices, the way Google and Apple’s location managers work with not just SignOnSite, but all apps, enables you to be in control of what apps can access your location.

Your phone’s location at all times is managed through the phone’s Location Manager. In order for an app to access your phone’s location, they must request permission. When this happens, you will be presented an option to allow or deny this, in the form of a popup like in the screenshot below.

From that point, your phone will display a GPS symbol at the top of your phone’s screen whenever an app accesses your location.

This symbol will show whenever SignOnSite accesses your device’s location to determine if you have arrived at or left site.

These design choices were made because before anything else, SignOnSite cares about your safety.

The reason we want to know if you are on site is so then we can provide our safety measures. We can deliver you critical site information through the briefings. Finally, in the case of an emergency, we can notify you all immediately, far more efficiently than was previously possible.

At the end of the day, SignOnSite is about ensuring that you get home to your family.

If you want to learn about how you can manage location permissions on your device and keep your privacy in your hands, check out our article for iPhone’s here, or our Android article here.

Learning more

The full Privacy Policy is available by clicking here.

If you have any questions, issues or complaints regarding this Privacy Notice please contact us by emailing privacy@signonsite.com.au